## St. Ansgar, Iowa August 9, 2021

The St. Ansgar Community School District is an Equal Employment Opportunity and Affirmative Action Educational Agency.

The Board of Directors of the St. Ansgar Community School District met in regular session in the High School/Middle School Media Center at 5:31 P.M.

Present: Directors Steve Groth, Will Morrow, Kyle Tabbert, Lindsey Falk, Tara Bork, and Lowana Hannam. Donna Brumm arrived at 5:44 P.M. Superintendent Michael Crozier. Board Secretary Emily Johnson-Woods. Principal Josh Culberson. Principal Lynn Baldus. Two guests were present.

Absent: None.

The meeting was called to order by President Groth. Falk moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Morrow, to approve the Agenda with the additional bills, personnel matters, contract, fundraisers and open enrollment. Ayes-Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Bork, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

There were no citizens or organizations in attendance to address the board.

There were no written communications.

The Principal reports were in the packet.

Superintendent Crozier updated the board on the current COVID-19 guidelines. There are no mask mandate requirements, no contact tracing, but as always, if a student or staff member is sick we ask that they stay home. There is still a mask mandate on the busses as that is a Federal Regulation.

Superintendent Crozier updated the Board on the Summer Cleaning that has happened over the last three months. Mr. Crozier also extended an invite to the Board Members and their families for the Staff Picnic that is happening August 16, 2021 from 5:30 P.M to 8 P.M, and updated the board on the beginning of the 2021-2022 School Year Kick-off meeting. The Schedule was presented in the packet.

Superintendent Crozier updated the board on the In-Town bus that will cover all sections of town. He mentioned that the Facebook Auction is currently happening and will end August 19, 2021 at midnight.

Superintendent Crozier also updated the board on the Transportation Facility. We are closer to having the project sent out for bids.

Director Falk discussed the Saints Legacy Grant and the Short-Term and Long Term Goals and wanted to know if that is something that we need to look more into and get new goals established.

Falk moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Morrow, to approve the Consent Action Items which included the following:

- Minutes from the July 12, 2021 board meeting.
- July 2021 Financial Statements.
- July bills, including prepays in the amount of \$324,986.50.
- Payroll in the amount of \$469,348.57 for July.
- Approve the resignation of Deb Miller as Evening Custodian.
- Approve the Learning Connection Contract for 2021-2022 School Year.
- Approve offering Jessica Jeffries a contract for the 2021-2022 School Year as Elementary Secretary. The wage would start at \$15.09/hour for the probation period and then moving to \$16.17/hour after the probation period.

- Approve Jacob Iverson as a Volunteer JH Football Coach.
- Approve offering Courtney Jorgenson the Assistant Middle School Volleyball Coach Position, at step 0, for \$1,756.98.
- Approve the resignation of Renee Horgen as Para-Professional.
- Approve the Learning Connections payment in the amount of \$1,352 to Sue Loken.
- Approve Learning Connections Contract for 2021-2022 School Year.
- Approve the Athletico Contract.
- Approve the Trane Annual Service Agreement for \$4,316.
- Approve the prepay payment amount of \$6,069 to BMO Harris Credit Card.

Ayes-Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Hannam, to approve the FFA, Football/Volleyball Casey's cards, Student Council, and the FCCLA/Big Red as presented in the packet. Ayes-Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Falk.. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Brumm, to approve the District updated Return to Learn Plan as presented on the School's Website. Ayes-Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Hannam, to approve the purchase of IPads for Preschool and Pre-Kindergarten. Ayes-Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, and Brumm. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Hannam, to approve the first reading of policy 200.3, 206.1, 206.2, 213, 213.1, 302.5, 303.6, 412.3, 501.14, 501.15, 502.5, 505.6, 603.6, 604.1, 606.4, 701.6, 711.2, and 803.1. New policies 401.14, 502.3R1, 804.8, 804.8R1, and 905.3. Rescind policies 504.3, 504.3R1, and 711.2R2. Ayes- Bork, Tabbert, Falk, Groth, Brumm, Morrow, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Morrow moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Brumm, to approve the District's 2021 legislative priorities. The District chose Preschool, Mental Health, Local Accountability and Decision-Making, and Sharing and Reorganization policies as their priorities. Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, and Bork. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Brumm, to approve appointing Director Bork as the IASB Delegate. Ayes-Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Falk, to appoint Theresa Van Sabben, HR as the Affirmative Action Coordinator. Ayes-Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Hannam, to appoint Lynn Baldus as the Equity Coordinator. Ayes-Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.

Falk moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Tabbert, to appoint Lynn Baldus as the Title IX Coordinator. Ayes-Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, and Falk. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Morrow, to appoint Josh Culberson as the 504 Coordinator. Ayes- Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, and Tabbert. Nays-None.

Tabbert moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Falk, to approve Lynn Baldus and Josh Culberson as Level 1 Investigators, and Lance Schutjer, local Police Chief, as Level II investigators. Ayes-Bork, Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, and Brumm. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> Tabbert, to approve the student and coaches' handbooks for the 2021-2022 school year with the amendment. Ayes-Hannam, Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, and Bork. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2<sup>nd</sup> by Morrow, to approve the out-of-state travel for FFA activities as presented. Ayes-Groth, Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, and Hannam. Nays-None.

Bork moved, duly 2 <sup>nd</sup> by Morrow, to approve the open enrollment as presented in the packet pending Lyle approves it on their end. Ayes-Morrow, Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, and Groth. Nays-None.
Morrow moved, duly 2 <sup>nd</sup> by Falk, to approve the open enrollment. Ayes- Falk, Tabbert, Brumm, Bork, Hannam, Groth, and Morrow. Nays-None.
The meeting adjourned at 6:37 P.M.
Attachments to the board minutes may be viewed at the Board Secretary's Office. There may be a charge for any copies that are requested.

Emily Johnson-Woods, Board Secretary

Steve Groth, President